Day 88: Hot Hot Hot

The temperature has spiked, and it will be in the mid to high 90s both today and tomorrow (luckily cooling down a bit for the weekend).  I don’t do well with extreme heat.  Heck, I don’t do well with extreme weather of any kind.  I would be quite happy to live somewhere where it was 70 degrees all year round.

Bailey doesn’t really like the hot weather either.  I kinda wish that he liked to swim or enjoyed playing in water, so we could take him somewhere to swim or fill up a kiddie pool for him to splash in on days like these.  He hates being wet though.  In the summer, when we are down at Craig’s parents house on the Chesapeake Bay in Maryland or at my parent’s house in North Carolina, we can sometimes get him to swim.  It normally involves us going in the water and him coming in to swim after us, because he wants to be near us.  He doesn’t do it because he actually enjoys it and wants to be in the water though.

So instead, since Bailey doesn’t enjoy water activities on hot days, he spends most of his days hanging out inside in the air condition.  Honestly, I don’t mind much though, because that is where I like to be as well.

p.s. I designed a new watermark today.  Much simpler and less bulky then the last one.  What do you think?  Opinions?  Like it better? Worse?

13 Comments to “Day 88: Hot Hot Hot”

  1. I’m digging your new watermark. The simplicity speaks volumes!

    Ninety degree temperatures in June? The weather has been so unpredictable this year. Please do keep yourselves cool and don’t forget the sunscreen!

  2. I love this shot, probably simply due to the light, angle and DOF. well done. Hot here too. I did get to take out 4 legged fish to the Monocacy River finally.. and will return tomorrow as they had a ball. Only have some videoes from today maybe I will use my day off to put a little something together. Best method to introduce to the water is through fun. And it helps to have a calm water place to start. Get some of his buddies in the water. maybe lamby needs to take to the water???? eh?? My two love it, but I introduced early, and went in myself to fish too, and Wyatt is just made for it. So happy the water is normal depth again so I can get them out.
    Stay cool
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  3. hey there, This new water mark looks like an ordinary watermark. The old one on the other hand looked like a profesional logo. On a scale of 1-10 and 10 being the best? Your old logo was a 10. the new logo is a 5. and I am unanimouse in that. :) I think you should stick with what you had before. But you could use the new logo for other pics say, of your non pet photos? Thats all just my opinion though. Hope I was of some assistance.

  4. I really like the new watermake. It’s very simple. I do still love your old one though lol

  5. What a cute picture. He looks plain worn out by the heat! Kolchak *refuses* to swim. We have to forcibly drag him in to cool off amid much crying and howling :)

  6. Hi! Bailey! It’s me, Buddy and the Bear! We are just stopping by to say Hi! We like the new watermark! Very creative! We are having cooler weather than usual for June, 71 degrees today! It won’t last though. We usually hit 90s and 100s in July and August, sometimes Sept.
    We will have to stop our walks on the mountain soon. The rattlesnakes are coming out! You stay cool!

  7. Hmmm. If you are really asking (and I have to assume you are) I vote for the original one too. It was much more interesting, said something about you, and was fun, while staying professional. The new one? Simple, yes. Too simple? Yes. I really like the dog’s head in the new one, so maybe a combo of them both? But the font in the new one is just too boring.

  8. Your new watermark is simple and fun. It gives the photo a clean and fun view. Love the doggy icon and the complete outlook! Thumbs up!

  9. I like them both… i like that the new one is slightly more subtle, so that it isn’t what you think of right off the bat, when you look at the picture. however, the other one did look more like a professional photography logo, so i’m not sure which is better for use…
    sorry, indecisive and unhelpful! but the pic is adorable, no indecisiveness about that! I love the reflection in the glossy floor

  10. Hey Bailey,

    You look like you’ve found the perfect place to hang out there Buddy!

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  11. Ugh the heat … it’s unbearable, isn’t it? Here it hit almost 100 yesterday. The dogs don’t even want to play outside for much more than 10-minutes at a time.

    As far as the watermark goes, I like your original one better, but this one is more subtle and might take away from the picture less if placed in a ‘quieter’ spot of the photo.

  12. Great capture of Bailey’s reflection on your hardwood floors, which I think is really unique compared to common surfaces like water and glass. I’m not a big fan of extreme temperatures, either! Unfortunately, it’s always hot and humid year-round in Singapore.

    In terms of the watermark, my personal preference is for the previous one—it kind of has that feel of a rubber stamp with your signature on it. With this new one, it certainly has a more mod feel to it. I like the doggie face in the middle. Cute!

  13. Hi! I agree with previous comments about the original watermark. I love the professional look it had. And I didn’t think it was too distracting, it just made your photos look, well, distinguished! : )

Leave a comment